Starting processes (via bash script?) automatically at boot?

I’m extremely new to linux programming (as a matter of fact to any OS programming, I’m more used to to-the-metal Atmel, etc. programming). A few of my other posts probably indicate this, haha.

Luckily, the application I’m trying to develop doesn’t look like it will require changing pin muxing any longer (which I still can’t quite wrap my head around) and instead I’ll just use the available i2c and UART1 and UART2 (which I know how to enable easily by editing uEnv.txt).

However, my system needs to start and then just automatically run some processes when the system boots. These are all compiled c-code. I need to run an initialization program that sets up some shared memory locations, and then start a number of processes that run concurrently using these shared memory resources and interface with the i2c and UART interfaces.

I’ve got the code figured out to do most of this, but I’m still a bit unclear on how to actually get this to run automatically at boot. Is there some way to just get a bash script to execute at boot where I can simply call my process names from there?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Also, I’m using Debian, not Angstrom.

I’m extremely new to linux programming (as a matter of fact to any OS programming, I’m more used to to-the-metal Atmel, etc. programming). A few of my other posts probably indicate this, haha.

Luckily, the application I’m trying to develop doesn’t look like it will require changing pin muxing any longer (which I still can’t quite wrap my head around) and instead I’ll just use the available i2c and UART1 and UART2 (which I know how to enable easily by editing uEnv.txt).