To CANBUS or not to CANBUS

Relatively new to small platforms and Linux in general. Have a new BeagleBone Black and am thinking about monitoring/logging sensors for future projects like monitoring solar heating, power consumption, state of devices in home, etc.

I read that CANBUS is a preferred method for multiple sensors on a long wire. Would you agree?

What does the CANBUS Cape offer beyond what the BBB can already do?

Should I skip the wire and learn to work with wireless sensors first? I imagine the cost is higher, but would that be a more robust and more easily managed network?

Someone on the forums implied that the future of BBB and Angstrom is in question. Should I do my learning on Ubuntu instead, as I’m just getting started?

Thanks for your time, patience and experience as I start imagining ways forward.

CAN bus is mostly for automotive applications. All contemporary cars have this bus and all inner units in a car interact through this bus

For industrial applications rs485 is the most widely used bus, but it may depend on your budget. Sometimes a radio connection is better than simple wiring. 1-wire is an option too, but this bus has significant limitation on the wires length

You can also find out details about ZigBee devices.

Zig Bee is the right choice.
Less power, No limitation on distance.
Visit www.sena.com for details

Deepak Bodhani

CAN bus need a transceiver to be connected to the physical layer. This device transform the CAN Rx / Tx signals of the BBB into CAN low and CAN High.
See for example : ISO 1050 - ISOLATED CAN TRANSCEIVER

The CAN cape contains this kind of component and an EEPROM that automatically set the right ports in the CAN mode.

You could build your own cape with a different transceiver (with 2 supplies: 5 or 12v for the CAN bus side and 3.3v for the BBB side) and configure yourself the BBB with the appropriate device tree: Enable CANBus on the BeagleBone Black

I had someone pitch me CAN is very deterministic