Unable to boot from SD card or mount a blank one

Hi

I am new to the BB AI. I have been facing some issues with the SD-card boot.
The board boots just fine off of the eMMC. However, I would like to boot it from the SD card.
I have used a number of images from the BB images page, written them into the SD card with Balena etcher, no use - the board always boots off of the eMMC.

I then tried formatting the card with FAT32 , allocation unit size 4096, and then checked if I could at least mount it from the eMMC booted system. The SD card is never recognized and there is no entry in /dev for this device.

I tried using dtc on the am5729-beagleboardai.dtb to generate the dts, followed the post at:
https://www.element14.com/community/thread/74281/l/beaglebone-ai-booting-from-sd-card-issue

specifically, I did this:
"converted the am5729-beagleboneai.dtb to xx.dts using “dtc”. Then, I found out mmc1 node (mmc@4809c000), and modify some places as follows:

1. compatible = “ti,dra7-sdhci”; >>>>> compatible = “ti,dra7-sdhci”, “ti,omap4-hsmmc”;

2. add: vmmc_aux-supply = <0xd0>; (same node with vqmmc-supply)

3. max-frequency = <0xb71b000>; >>>>> max-frequency = <0x16e3600>; (to lower the frequency of mmc)

Save and exit, then convert the .dts file to am5729-beagleboneai.dtb, replace the old one.

"

(copied the steps from the above site)

This does not work either.

I dont have a serial interface for the board just yet so I dont have the serial output.

I would appreciate any input or help. I am not sure what I should do to get this board booting off of the SD card.

Thank you and Best regards!

If it’s like the Beaglebone Black, when you apply power, you have to hold the boot button down for quite a while. That’s what tells the system to boot from the sd card.

It won’t matter if you form the card as Balena etcher will write the image in the format required for the Beagle.

John

Have you tried the lsscsi and lsblk commands to see what the system thinks that device is?