update failure

I have a new Ver C board. I went through the getting started scenario. I have 30 years computer support, but I am a newbie to the Beaglebone.

I was able to log in just fine, life is sweet. Time to upgrade the OS. I read thoroughly the upgrade process. I read several "versions, the Beagleboard.org version, Adafruit version, and a couple of others, Of course, they were all the same. I chose the “BBB-eMMC-flasher-2013.09.04.img.xz”. I followed the Windows version, created the SD image and inserted it in the board. I followed the boot process, the four Leds came on, released the “boot” button. The LEDs flashed for a few seconds, went out, the all four came on for a couple of seconds, flashed for a couple of seconds, then the board powered down. Uh-oh, not right. Sure enough, the OS is hosed. I then inserted the SD card in my Windows machine. The 16 GB card came up as 68 MB free out of 70 MB available. ??? I then did trouble shooting for the next 8 hours. I got to the point that I was able to reformat the SD card in a few seconds, it then showed 16 GB again. I tested the card by copying several Gigs of files to the Card, it is OK. I went through the installation process a couple of dozen times, the same results each time. I decided there must be something wrong with the image. So, I switched to the “Angstrom-Cloud9-IDE-GNOME_eglibc-ipk-v2012.12-beaglebone-2013.06.20.img” (whew!). This time the SD came up as 2MB free out of 70MB. ()(&)(&)_))&__& I tried it anyway. As this is being posted, the installation has been going for 3 hours. The USB LED D3 is continuous flashing and LED D5 flashes twice, every 2 seconds. I will give it a couple of more hours, probably a waste of time, and then see if it will boot. I suspect not.
So, did I do something wrong? I do not know what other information to provide. Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.
Rick Harms