Why Use PocketBeagle over ESP32 or Other Connnected MCUs?

Hello Everyone, I’m completely new to Embedded Linux and the BeagleBoard community. I recently got my PocketBeagle and already love it!

I have some experience with IoT development with the ESP32, and I was curious how a PocketBeagle or even a BeagleBone Black can be used for IoT applications.

In addition, since there are many connected microcontrollers in the market such as the ESP32; what are some advantages of using the PocketBeagle and Embedded Linux for IoT applications?

Thanks and Best regards

Hello…

Linux is a full-featured and rich filesystem and not just baremetal. People in general build libs to handle low level tasks w/ high resolution, e.g. like w/ AI and w/ AI mixed w/ Linux, there are many more opportunities to get things correct or completely wrong.

Specifically for me, learning about an entire file is more rewarding compared to just a bit of source.

I have been reading some books on Linux and they are complicated text at times w/ a rewarding can-do experience.

Outside of that idea or those few facts, the ecosystem of Linux is vast w/ tons of real life examples that one can use advantageously and as work. @M_Rafay_Shams , IoT development on Linux is way more profound. Every file is another route to something more interesting.

Seth

P.S. And when you think you are completely bored w/ what is thought of as fully knowledgeable in Linux, there is another route it will take. Linux will take a turn, sinuously, in many different file formats that incorporate all of it. It is a quite remarkable take on things. Specifically, BBB and other am335x supported boards all hold their value in peripherals, real-time task scheduling like w/ the PRUs, and then well. I can chat all day about stuff but only in generalized format, i.e. as I am still learning about all it has to offer.