Wired network Disconnected

Greetings,

I am a BBB newbie and trying to set it up as linuxcnc per:
http://bb-lcnc.blogspot.com/p/machinekit_16.html. Base distro is
Debian Wheezy.

My host “console” is ubuntu 12.04 LTS running as a VM in OS X.

After booting the BBB from the SD card, connecting it to the VM,
and running “ifconfig eth1 192.168.7.1” I am able to ping 192.168.7.2
and ssh as either the root or linux user.

However, shortly thereafter ubuntu displays “Wired network Disconnected”,
the ssh session is frozen, and eth1 no longer shows inet addr:192.168.7.2.
The message keeps appearing periodically.

I have added udev rules via mkudevrule.sh but no joy.

Any ideas? This behavior does not occur when I boot the default image
from eMMC (and I do not have to manually add 192.168.7.1 either).

Thanks, -K-

Why the double post?

Gerald

I am the moderator. I generally give answers to question only if I have an answer. I will leave it up to others to help you if they can. Maybe the providers of the image you are using will jump in and answer your question.

Gerald

is this ethernet or USB g_ether / g_multi ? IF the latter, get rid of USB networking, at best its flaky, at least from what I have noticed on Wheezy.

If this is an actual problem with ethernet, you might start by changing out the ethernet cable plugged into the BBB ( easiest to check / do if you have a spare cable ), also double check to make sure the connectors on both ends are plugged in securely. Short of this, you’re potentially in for a world of network troubleshooting . . .

How are you networking to the BBB? The system is setup to use wired
Ethernet and DHCP. If you want something different, you need to edit
/etc/network/interfaces as usual on a Debian based distribution.

If you're using USB networking, I highly recommend you use the real,
physical Ehternet port on the BBB...that's why it's there. Running
Ubuntu from a virtual machine on a Mac talking via USB network