AI64 - PRU Basics (very)

First of all I am not a PRU expert in anyway, I just need to get some code running so I thought I would post some basics about getting something running on one of the PRUs to toggle a gpio on the pin headers. I will follow this up with some more posts about getting pasm and prudebug running on the AI64.

Everything here should be done as root

This file is your friend: /opt/source/dtb-5.10-ti-arm64/src/arm64/k3-j721e-beagleboneai64.dts

Search for #define BONE_PIN(XX,ZZ,QQ)

Under that line are all the definitions for the headers, so we can see for instance:

BONE_PIN(P8_16, default,   P8_16(PIN_INPUT, 7))
BONE_PIN(P8_16, pruout,    P8_16(PIN_OUTPUT, 0))
BONE_PIN(P8_16, pruin,     P8_16(PIN_INPUT, 1))
BONE_PIN(P8_16, gpio,      P8_16(PIN_INPUT, 7))
BONE_PIN(P8_16, gpio_pu,   P8_16(PIN_INPUT_PULLUP, 7))
BONE_PIN(P8_16, gpio_pd,   P8_16(PIN_INPUT_PULLDOWN, 7))

So we can use P8_16 for output from the pru.

In order to do this we need to change cape_header: pinmux_dummy to choose what muxing we want.

So we change

&P8_16_default_pin

to

&P8_16_pruout_pin

Now make all the dts stuff, install it and reboot:

cd /opt/source/dtb-5.10-ti-arm64/
make
make install
sync
reboot

Now we can output to P8_16, to test this we will modify one of the pru examples that is on the AI64

cd /usr/lib/ti/pru-software-support-package/examples/j721e/PRU_RPMsg_Echo_Interrupt0
cp main.c main_backup.c

This example creates a device /dev/rpmsg_pru30, if we write data to that device the data will be echoed back to it.

We will change it to toggle all the GPIOs whenever it receives a message, this then should then toggle P8_16.

__R30 is used for the GPIOs so we add in:

volatile register uint32_t __R30;

in main() we add:

volatile uint32_t gpio;

gpio = 0xFFFFFFFF;

Then whenever we receive a message we flip __R30

while (pru_rpmsg_receive(&transport, &src, &dst, payload, &len) == PRU_RPMSG_SUCCESS) {

//toggle gpios
  __R30 ^= gpio;