RS-485 communication with Beagle Bone Black

Hi, for a project I would need some modules that don’t cost much for my Beaglke Bone Black that allow to use the RS-485 serial communication from the UART1 one already present in the device.
Could you recommend me something?

I am not sure if an RS485 cape exists. Many years ago when I needed RS485 I just used a USB converter. Probably easier to get hold of.

Found this on a quick search Waveshare Industrial USB to RS485 Converter

I am sure you can find others.

1 Like

I’m no expert, but I’ll definitely look into it. I also found this, but I don’t know if it actually helps: To enable RS-485 mode on UART1 port, you can use a software driver like “bb-uart-rs485” and configure UART1 port with the correct parameters.

You will need an RS485 transciever as the UART is only 3v logic regardless of how you configure the UART. That’s why you will either need a cape that does RS485 or a USB cable that does RS485.

Depending on your needs you can find either half-duplex or full duplex interfaces.

As far as I remember the USB cable I used just appeared as a USB serial device and was used as any other serial device.

1 Like

Thanks for everything. I’ll experiment. I’ll let you know how it goes :slight_smile:

Finally I made a draft of the conversion sequence:
DHT11 (1-Wire) → DS2482S-100+ adapter (1-Wire to UART) ->BeagleBone Black-> Sparkfun UART to RS-485 converter (UART to RS-485 ).

I will be using python for the programming part to send this data. How does this idea sound to you?

You need a cheap 3.3V UART serial to RS485 transceiver for your BB.
SparkFun Transceiver Breakout - RS-485
Datasheet (SP3485)

1 Like

I also found this, what do you think?
https://www.amazon.it/gp/product/B07DN115BZ/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=A3BI8G9NTBZUKM&psc=1

That should be work.

The breakout board doesn’t look bad and I think it should work. If you are a Prime customer, you pay nothing for transport and can send the board back if necessary.