Hi everyone,

I am Emilio L�pez, a Computer Science student from Argentina. I was
looking at all the different GSoC project proposals available today and
I found an interesting one on the wiki titled "Upstreaming
Beagleboard.org Kernel Patches"[1]

I have some experience working with the Linux kernel; I've written a
clock driver[2] for sunxi boards (Allwinner A10, A13 SoCs) as well as
contributed some misc. DT patches[3], all of which should be landing on
mainline as soon as the 3.10 cycle starts.

I had a quick look at the patches on beagleboard's github[4]; there's a
lot of patches there, but most of the ones I looked at seemed to be in
good shape to be mainlined as-is or with little rework after the
respective maintainers comment on them.

Please let me know what should I do to apply to work on this as part of
GSoC. I will be idling on both #beagle and #beagle-gsoc if you want to
talk with me personally :slight_smile:

Cheers,

Emilio

[1]:
http://elinux.org/BeagleBoard/GSoC/Ideas#Upstreaming_Beagleboard.org_Kernel_Patches
[2]:
https://git.linaro.org/gitweb?p=people/mturquette/linux.git;a=search;h=refs/heads/clk-next;s=emilio@elopez;st=author
[3]:
http://git.kernel.org/cgit/linux/kernel/git/arm/arm-soc.git/log/?h=for-next&qt=author&q=emilio%40elopez
[4]: https://github.com/beagleboard/kernel/tree/3.8

Hi everyone,

As per Tom's recommendation, I'm attaching my draft proposal for this
project; I'm open to all suggestions, comments and criticisms :slight_smile:

Thanks,

Emilio

proposal.odt (34.4 KB)

I'll first criticize the project, since "upstream all the patches" is overly broad :slight_smile: What I recommend is picking a small number or items and focussing on those. For example: